Beginning in January of next year, drivers in North Carolina will have the option of receiving their notice of vehicle registration renewal by email instead of through the regular mail, as it’s done now. And with the Tag & Tax Together Program in effect, the electronic notice will also include any vehicle property tax you owe.
The Tag & Tax Together program combines your North Carolina vehicle registration fees and vehicle property taxes into a single renewal notice. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sends you just one invoice and you pay in one transaction. Payment can be made online, in person or by mail:
- Use the DMV’s online payment processing form
- Visit your local License Plate Agency
- Pay by mail to: P.O. Box 29620, Raleigh, NC 27626
To watch an exciting video about Tag & Tax Together, click here.
Currently, the DMV sends your combined vehicle tax and registration notice by regular mail. Senate Bill 621 authorizes the DMV to send the notice by e-mail, but only as long as the vehicle owner gives their written consent to the DMV.
Senate Bill 621 was signed into law by Governor Pat McCrory on June 24, 2015, after sailing through the House and Senate with unanimous support.
According to the DMV, about 60 days before your vehicle registration expires, they will send you a renewal notice to the mailing address they have on record. Your annual vehicle inspection, registration renewal and vehicle property tax will be due the same month each year. Only one payment is required to pay both the annual tag and tax for your vehicle. As always, the vehicle inspection fees will still be payable to your local inspection station.
A New and Improved DMV
The change is the latest in a series of reforms initiated by Governor McCrory. Since 2014, for example, most newcomers to the state no longer have to take a written test to obtain a North Carolina driver license. “This change is another way NCDMV is driving change, working hard to reduce wait times and help our citizens conduct business more efficiently,” said Governor McCrory.
With the elimination of the written test, newcomers and North Carolina residents only have to present a valid drivers license that has been expired less than two years, and take the eye test and road sign test to apply for a license. The change has dramatically cut the time many have to spend in the DMV office. First-time drivers and applicants whose licenses have been expired more than two years will continue to be required to take the written test.
NCDMV piloted numerous changes over the past two years based on a “Voice of the Customer” study aimed at improving customer service, efficiency and technology, and eliminating bureaucracy. Also among the reforms:
- Extended Hours: Expanded standard office hours to stay open later during the week and half-days on Saturdays; participating offices have already served 41,250 customers on Saturday’s alone in the first year;
- Reduced-Wait-Time: Numerous offices have implemented various time-saving measures and customer service amenities which have shortened wait times by more than 83 percent at the North Raleigh and Cary offices;
- Wait-Time Reduction Greeter: A front-desk greeter meets customers, answers questions and helps make sure customers have the right paperwork as soon as they walk in the door; and
- Self-Serve Kiosk Pilot: A self-service kiosk helps customers access the documents needed for licenses, ID cards and vehicle registrations, reducing unnecessary trips to DMV and eliminating wait time for services.